Item: no.1

Draft Minutes

NORTH WEST AREA JOINT POLICING SUB COMMITTEE

Monday 13th March 2017 at 3.00 p.m.

A minute silence was observed at the start of the meeting in respect of the death of Chief Superintendent Lorraine Wheatley's mother Claire.

ltem		Action
1.	Minutes of meeting held 12 th December 2016 and matters arising.	Agreed.
2.	Update on the CCTV Project – Insp John Burke.	 Inspector John Burke from Finglas Garda Station gave an update on the ongoing CCTV project in the North West Area. 7 out of the 8 cameras on the chosen sites identified have been successfully installed, they are as follows: Kildonan Road (outside Abigail Centre) –Funded by DCC. Barry Avenue - Funded by DCC. Car Park of Clearwater S.C. – Funded by Tesco Ireland. St. Helena's Road/Drive - Funded by Tesco Ireland Cappagh Road/Mary's Halting Site – Funded by Fingal County Council. Glasanaon Road/Johnstown Gardens – Funded by Garda Telcoms Willow Park Road/ Sycamore Road – Funded by Garda Telecoms In relation to the camera at Cappagh/ Rataoth Drive Insp. Burke noted there was criminal damage caused to the pole the day after it was erected. Following consultation between Gardaí and DCC the pole was removed due to risk of collapse and the site will be reconsidered in the coming weeks. It was also noted that an unsuccessful attempt was made on the night of the 10th March to cause damage to the camera pole at Barry Avenue. Fortunately the barrier worked and no damage was caused to the pole. Cllr. Connaghan requested extra Garda resources during the reinstallation of the pole and camera. Insp. Burke agreed to provide security during the period of installation.

		installation of CCTV camera. Insp. Tony Gallagher from Mountjoy Station to assist Fergus with the enquiry.
3.	Update on CCTV SubGroup.	Insp. John Burke and Ms. Mary Taylor provided a written report on CCTV in the Public Domain across the North West Area. The report was circulated in member's packs. Cllr. McGrattan requested that all members review the report and to forward any comments or recommendations to either Mary Taylor on <u>mary.taylor@dublincity.ie</u> or Insp. Burke on john.z.burke@garda.ie A final version of the report will be issued at a future meeting of the JPC. Cllr. Mc Grattan thanked the Sub Group on their work and contribution.
4.	Update on Kildonan Lands Project and Abigail Centre.	Reports Noted. Deputy Ellis requested an update on the Masterplan progress. Mr. Aidan Maher advised that a presentation by Brady Shipman Martin is planned for the North West Area Committee meeting in May. This will be followed up with a public consultation for approx 1 month. All submissions will be received and a response report will be presented back to the Area Committee for approval. Cllr. Keegan asked for information on the current classes provided at the centre and numbers attending. Cllr. Keegan also asked if a curfew was in place at the centre. Mr. Eddie Matthews gave an overview of the number and type of classes available at the centre: these include Men's Shed, Gardening, Cookery and literacy classes. Mr. Matthews noted that a curfew of midnight is in place and there is policy for those clients who abuse the curfew.
5.	Discussion on the findings of the Mental Health Sub Group (presented to the NWA JPC in September 2016) with Ms Carmel Kitching and Mr. Olan Devine, HSE Dublin North City.	Ms. Carmel Kitching, Mental Health Manager, North City and Mr. Olan Devine, Administration Manager, Camhs was in attendance at the meeting and answered a range of questions from members. Ms. Kitching explained that mental health service in the HSE was a secondary service and that the first point of call should be to the GP. She informed the committee that a new strategy to be named Connecting for Life will be rolled out by the suicide prevention office. Mr. Aidan Maher requested a linkage with the strategy and the JPC Sub Group for Mental Health. Ms Kitching agreed a working group will seek input from third parties during consultation. Mr. Devine gave an overview of the CAMHS service and noted the current changes and expansion on the North Side.

6.	Presentation on the Integrated Offender Management Programme – Strive.	Superintendent Finbarr Murphy gave a powerpoint presentation on a local initiative in the Ballymun area called Strive. The presentation followed a number of questions from the members. Cllr. Montague thanked Superintendent Murphy and the team responsible for delivering Strive. A copy of the presentation to be forwarded with the minutes.		
7.	Fora updates.	Reports Noted. Niall Counihan expressed his concern in changes introduced by the Irish Youth Justice Service in referrals of youths to the YLS project. Mr. Counihan asked if the Senior Gardaí could address this issue with the Irish Youth Justice Service. Cllr. Sammon requested an update on the safety fora meetings held in Drumcondra. Mary Taylor informed the Cllr. that consultation with local residential groups would take place before a decision was made on changing the meetings.		
8.	Garda Reports.	Reports Noted. Cllr Sammon aired concern over recent anti social behaviour in both Poppintree and Griffith Parks and the rise in burglaries around O'Neachtain Road, Drumcondra. Superintendent Murphy noted that operation Irene had recommenced and would run until Halloween targeting in particular the public parks. Chief Superintendent O'Brien noted operation crossover was currently in place in the area with extra patrols in operation.		
9.	Strategic Questions.	9 Questions received, replies in packs for all members.		
10.	AOB	DCC Paperless Policy. Noted Cllr Costello requested statistics on the number of seizures of Quad and Scramblers in the North West Area. An Garda Siochana to provide figures for the June JPC meeting.		

The meeting concluded at 16.25

The next meeting will take place on <u>Monday 26th June 2017</u> at 3.00 pm in the Council Chamber, Ballymun Civic Centre, Main Street, Ballymun, Dublin 11.

Attendance:

Councillors:	Seamas McGrattan , Teresa Keegan, David Costello, Emma Murphy, Anthony Connaghan, Aine Clancy, Andrew Montague, Cathleen Carney Boud, Norma Sammon, Andrew Keegan.	
TDs:	Deputy Dessie Ellis.	
Officials:	Dave Dinnigan (Executive Manager), Aidan Maher (Senior Executive Officer), Mary Taylor (Senior Executive Officer), Lisa Keenan (Staff Officer), Lorna Hickey (A. Staff Officer), Leona Fynes (Project Estate Officer), Fergus Synnott (Administrative Officer), Larry Dooley (Community and Social Development Officer).	
Gardaí:	Chief Superintendent Lorraine Wheatley, Chief Superintendent Finbarr O'Brien, Superintendent Finbarr Murphy, Superintendent William Carolan, Inspector John Burke, Inspector Anthony Gallagher, Inspector Majella Armstrong, Sergeant Damien Mangan.	
Community Reps:	Mr. Tony Byrne, Mr. Martin Hoey, Ms. Triona O'Sullivan.	
Safety Fora Reps:	Mr. Niall Counihan, Ms. Jackie Phelan.	
Local Drugs Task Forc	e: Mr. Hugh Greaves	
Others:	Mr. Eddie Matthews Abigail Centre, Ms Carmel Kitching HSE, Mr. Olan Devine HSE.	
Apologies:	Cllr. Cieran Perry, Cllr. Paul Mc Auliffe, Cllr. Noeleen Reilly, Deputy Roisin Shortall, Lord Mayor Brendan Carr, John Bennett, Frank Murphy.	
	Councillor Seamas Mc Grattan	

<u>Councillor Seamas Mc Grattan</u> Chairperson